Shut up and take my money, HBO.

It’s Sunday, April 6th at 9:16pm PDT.  Want to know what I’m not doing on Sunday, April 6th at 9:16pm PDT? Watching the season premier of Game of Thrones.

It’s not because I don’t care. I care a great deal. I’ve sunk hours into the GoT series (both book and TV for those keeping score). I care about the fate of all the Stark children; I’m eager to see if Daenerys will mobilize her army; and I wait with my breath held to see how Westeros will react to the news of the White Walkers.

I’m invested.

I’m not watching the season premier tonight because I couldn’t find a way to.  After an exhaustive search (that is, a few Google searches) I found that there is no easy way to legally watch HBO in Canada without a cable subscription. Sure there is HBO GO but you need an HBO subscription with your TV provider to access. Basically HBO only wants my money if it goes through a cable provider first.

 Dear HBO, please take my money. I just want to watch Arya get sweet sweet revenge. 

Dear HBO, please take my money. I just want to watch Arya get sweet sweet revenge.

There’s no way I can be the only one in this predicament. With the popularity of Netflix is it really that unrealistic to expect that other networks start offering subscription-based streaming? Poor form, HBO.

48221574

How did you watch the season premier? And for the love of the old gods NO SPOILERS!

